Call for Papers

We are pleased to invite you to the 21st Meeting of the EURO Working Group on Transportation (EWGT) in Braunschweig! EWGT is an international forum for researchers and practitioners to share information and experiences of research activities in the field of transport, traffic and logistic. After the 1st Meeting of EURO in 1992 in Landshut, the conference goes back to being held in Germany at the Technische Universität Braunschweig between the 17th and the 19th of September, 2018.

Submission guidelines

Only original and previously unpublished manuscripts will be considered for a presentation at the conference. Extended Abstracts with a maximum of 3 pages need to be submitted by 15th December 2017 via ConfTool. Please provide us also the source file (Word, LaTeX) for the preparation of your abstract. You can use our Word template file for your abstract. Final notification of acceptance will be given on 1st February 2018.

Full papers, with a maximum page count of 8 pages, must be submitted until 22nd April 2018. Further information regarding this process will be announced on the EWGT website in due time. All electronically submitted papers will be peer-reviewed. Elsevier will publish accepted and registered full papers in Transportation Research Procedia. Moreover, the local organizing committee is currently establishing agreements with some top journals for special issues related to the works presented at the EWGT Meeting.


In addition to the conference program, key speakers will present relevant state of the art topics in transportation research. Furthermore, social events are organized on both conference evenings. On the first evening, the conference participants are invited to the welcome reception at the Dornse, Braunschweig’s old elegant medieval town hall. The gala dinner on the following day will take the participants inside the glamourous Gewandhaus at the Altstadtmarkt in Braunschweig.

Main topics of the conference

The conference will cover several topics that are relevant in the transportation sector. In this respect, it will focus on issues of transport modeling and control, transport economics and policy, planning and operation as well as innovative solutions, since they proved to be useful in previous conferences. The following list suggests possible but not exclusive issues.

  1. Transport modeling and control
    • Dynamic network modeling and optimization
    • Simulation and optimization of transportation systems
    • Control and management of transportation systems
    • Traffic flow modeling
    • Vehicle routing and route planning
    • Choice modeling
    • Heuristic methods in optimization
    • Human factors and travel behavior
  2. Transport economics and policy
    • Decision support analysis and operation research
    • Transportation economics and financing
    • Impact assessments and ex-post evaluation
    • Energy consumption and emission modeling
    • Travel time reliability and wider economic benefits
    • Land use and transport interactions
    • Advanced modeling approaches in logistics
    • City logistics
  3. Planning and operation
    • Public transport planning and operation
    • Transportation planning and traffic engineering
    • Road safety
    • Multi-modal transportation
    • Traveler information systems
    • Automatic data collection methods
    • Survey applications
    • Management of intelligent rail transport systems
    • Air transport operations
  4. Innovative solutions
    • Autonomous vehicle system applications
    • Safety aspects of autonomous driving
    • Advanced vehicular communication technologies
    • Shared mobility
    • Active travel modes
    • Urban mobility
    • Big data in transportation
    • Smart cities and smart mobility

Scientific committee

  • Constantinos Antoniou
    Germany | Technical University of München
  • Erel Avineri
    Israel | Afeka – Tel Aviv College of Engineering
  • Jaume Barceló
    Spain | Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
  • Francisco G. Benitez
    Spain | University of Sevilla
  • Neila Bhouri
    France | IFSTTAR
  • Maurizio Bielli
    Italy | National Research Council
  • Klaus Bogenberger
    Germany | University of the Federal Armed Forces
  • Giulio Erberto Cantarella
    Italy | University of Salerno
  • Pasquale Carotenuto
    Italy | National Research Council
  • Hilmi Berk Celikoglu
    Turkey | Istanbul Technical University
  • Gonçalo Correia
    Netherlands | Delft University of Technology
  • Jorge Freire de Sousa
    Portugal | Universidade do Porto
  • Mauro Dell’Orco
    Italy | Technical University of Bari
  • Domokos Esztergár-Kiss
    Hungary | Budapest University of Technology and Economics
  • Bernhard Friedrich
    Germany | Technische Universität Braunschweig
  • Milica Kalic
    Serbia | University of Belgrade
  • Jean-Patrick Lebacque
    France | IFSTTAR
  • Hani Mahmassani
    USA | Northwestern University
  • Dirk C. Mattfeld
    Germany | Technische Universität Braunschweig
  • Kai Nagel
    Germany | Technical University Berlin
  • Michele Ottomanelli
    Italy | Technical University of Bari
  • Markos Papageorgiou
    Greece | Technical University of Crete
  • Soora Rasouli
    Netherlands | Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
  • Riccardo Rossi
    Italy | University of Padova
  • Henk van Zuylen
    Netherlands | Delft University of Technology
  • Francesco Viti
    Luxembourg | University of Luxembourg
  • Hiroshi Wakabayashi
    Japan | Meijo University
  • Jacek Zak
    Poland | Poznan University of Technology
Euro Working Group on Transportation Technische Universität Braunschweig Niedersächsisches Forschungszentrum Fahrzeugtechnik